November 22, 2018 11:41 pm

We celebrated the NZI Rural Women New Zealand Business Awards in the Banquet Hall at the Beehive in Wellington on Tuesday night where we announced the Supreme Winner.  See our press release below.


Rural Women New Zealand is proud to announce the 2018 Supreme Winner of the NZI Rural Women Business Awards – Marie Taylor of Plant Hawke’s Bay.

“Marie’s passion, expertise and commitment to her business, the environment and her community is reflected in the outstanding work Plant Hawke’s Bay carries out,” says Rural Women New Zealand National President, Fiona Gower.

The category winners competed for the Supreme Award announced at the Awards ceremony on Tuesday, 20 November in the Banquet Hall at Parliament, hosted by Jenny Marcroft MP with guest speaker, US Ambassador Scott Brown.

“Being a part of the NZI Rural Women New Zealand Business Awards is a tremendous opportunity for me and a wonderful way to showcase Plant Hawke’s Bay and build its profile, enabling me to tell my native plant story,” says Marie Taylor, Plant Hawke’s Bay.

“It is also great to meet other inspiring rural women and hear of their stories of business success.

“Congratulations to all our winners at this year’s NZI Rural Women New Zealand Business Awards. These awards recognise the sheer hard work, dedication and entrepreneurship that goes into developing rural enterprises,” says Premier Partner, NZI Rural Manager, Jon Watson.

“Plant Hawke’s Bay grew from Marie’s desire to save local plant species by getting them back into their natural landscape. Marie and her team focus on eco-sourcing seeds and cuttings from Hawke’s Bay, ensuring the regeneration of local plant species for future generations.

“Marie stands out because of her energy and passion for native plants and their habitats, she has an enquiring mind and was always keen to research and find out more to help landowners care for their land,” says Mr Watson.


Thank you to Premier Partner NZI; sponsors Agrisea, FNZC, Hynds Pipe Systems, ShearWarmth, and Treadwells Barristers and Solicitors; and supporters Access Community Health, Dove River Peonies and SWAZI.

The awards winners for each category are as follows:

Creative Arts

Sophie Siers – Millwood Press Ltd, Hawke’s Bay

Emerging Business

Hannah O’Brien – Hunt and Gather Bee Co, Waikato


Bridget Canning – WIZwireless, Wairarapa

Love of the Land

Marie Taylor – Plants Hawke’s Bay, Hawke’s Bay

Rural Champion

Robyn McKenzie – Fly My Sky, Taumarunui

Categorised in: