National Conference 2016

October 26, 2016 11:00 pm

Venue: James Cook Hotel, Wellington, Friday 11th to Sunday 13th November 2016 Region 4 are hosting the National Conference in Wellington at the James Cook Hotel.

Please use the information below as a guide when booking your travel and accommodation.

Delegate rates apply for accommodation at the James Cook Hotel, $169 per night (Friday to Sunday) Please advise the reservations desk you are a delegate at the Rural Women New Zealand Conference.

Registration Form

The registration form is available now,
click here to download the form, print the form and fill it in and post to Rural Women New Zealand or scan and email to
[email protected]
If you have any questions please phone 04 473 5524 or email
[email protected]

Programme Outline

Friday 11 November: Conference Day One

10am: Registrations open

12:30pm Opening Ceremony

  • Opening address from RWNZ National Councillor for Region Four and Conference Convenor, Liz Hancock
  • Welcome from RWNZ National President, Wendy McGowan
  • Speech by Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy
  • Speech by MP for Rongotai, Deputy Leader of Opposition, Hon Annette King
  • Speech by His Worship the Mayor of Wellington, Justin Lester
  • Speech by Commissioner, Office of Electricity and Gas Commissioner, Nanette Moreau

1:30pm National Awards presentation with ACWW World President, Ruth Shanks

2:15pm Guest Speaker: Jacqui Wilton, English Language Partners

3:00pm Afternoon Tea

3:30pm Keynote speaker: Sarah Von Dadelszen

4:30pm Speech Competition

5:30pm Competition winners announced by ACWW South Pacific Area President, Gail Commens,

6:00pm End of day one conference proceedings. Delegates self-cater for dinner. National Council host National Life Members

Saturday 12 November: Conference Day Two

8:30am Address from RWNZ National President, Wendy McGowan

8:45am Dalton Kelly, Chief Executive of the New Zealand Rural General Practitioner Network discusses rural health now and in future.

9:15am National Rural GP Practice Award winners discuss changes in health delivery in the community.

9:45am Caroline Gordon of Green Prescription

10:10am WorkSafe NZ

10:30am Morning Tea

11:00am Talent Central – bridging the gap between talent and opportunities.

11:45am Jacqueline Rowarth, Chief Scientist, Environmental Protection Agency discusses Education for New Zealand’s future.

12:30pm Lunch

1:30pm Rural Connectivity Panel discussion on broadband access and technology in the rural sector (Panel Chair: Craig Young, Chief Executive TUANZ)

2:30pm Afternoon Tea

3:00pm Parallel Sessions (select one session):

– Learning in schools today: presentation from education expert, Regan Orr, Principal of Fairfield School, Levin

– Dress for Success charity discusses empowering women through support networks, professional dress and career development tools. Diana Watson and Patricia Farrow

– MPI Biosecurity incursions: discussion about the issues and upcoming industry agreement. Julie Collins, Director of Biosecurity and Animal Welfare

4:00pm End of day one conference proceedings

5:30pm Enterprising Rural Women Awards

7:00pm Pre-dinner break

7:30pm Celebration dinner.

Sunday 13 November: Annual General Meeting

8:30am AGM begins

8:45am Reflections with retired Archdeacon May Croft

9:15am National President’s Report, Wendy McGowan

National Finance Chair Report, Rachael Dean

Geoff Potter, Audit Partner BDO

10:30am Morning tea

11:00am Dr Ann Pomeroy speaks to Remit 8. Adoption of the Bylaws

11:45 Guest Speaker, Billie Jordan, Hip Op-eration Crew

12:30pm Lunch

1:30pm Hon Louise Upston, MP for Taupo and Minister for Women

1:40pm RWNZ Business Session

2:30pm Conference concludes.

Competitions are open for 2016, these include the Short Story, Wool, Cora Wilding, and Speeches.

Thank you to our Premium Partner for National Conference 2016

Thank you to our supporters for National Conference 2016

[migrated-image src=”″>



[migrated-image src=” -wild jewels.png?Action=thumbnail&algorithm=fill_proportional&width=134″>



The awards have been refreshed for this year to encourage a range of applications from emerging business or community leaders, successful entrepreneurs and innovators in technology. There will be four prizes in total, including a Supreme Award. We encourage applications from a range of enterprising rural women and even past winners who have moved to a higher level with their business or service to the rural community.

Award Name Award Category
1.Emerging Enterprising Rural Woman Award Inspiring leader in rural business or a community influencer.
2.Innovative Enterprising Rural Woman Award Use of new technology, and adapting to rural location.
3.Entrepreneurial Enterprising Rural Woman Award Business success in horticulture, agricultural, dairy, tourism or other rural sector. Demonstrates commercial viability from rural enterprise.
4.Supreme Award: Enterprising Rural Woman Achievement Award Selected from the three category winners (Must have significant achievement or success in rural community/business/technology/social influence).


Thank you to our partners for the Awards

[migrated-image src=” Logo Full.jpg?Action=thumbnail&algorithm=fill_proportional&width=208″>



Categorised in: