Conference Competition Winners 2016

May 23, 2016 10:57 pm

Here is a list of the winners of the National Conference Competitions for 2016. Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all the entrants.

Best Provincial President Report: Sandra Curd, Mid Canterbury.

Best Branch President Report: Gendie Somerville-Ryan, Awana Branch.

International Officer Report Award (Talbot Trophy) Judged by Val Tarrant OBE Winner: Colleen Tiller, Thames Valley Provincial Region 5. Commended: Melva Robb, Marlbrough Provincial, Region 3.

ACWW Cora Wilding Competition: An English Rose

First prize: Jennie Purdon, South Taranaki
Second prize: Thelma Luxton, Motinui
Third prize: Helen Jones, Toko.

An English Rose – must be red, using any medium, for example felted, knitted, icing, ceramic, painting, or on something like a cushion, wall hanger etc. Can make a bud leaves to go with it.

Sold at Conference by silent auction for Pennies for Friendship.


Wool Competition:

First prize: Gwen Nicol, Skinner Road
Second prize: Margaret Vickers, Midhurst
Third prize: Diane Higgins, Brightwater


Four pictorial Peggy Squares. Can be knitted or crocheted 40 stitches and 80 rows of garter stitch. Double knitting wool on number 8 or 4mm knitting needles. Square to be 20cm.

Either 4 individual then stitched together as a block, or knitted or crocheted all four at once to make a block.


Marlborough Short Story and Olive Burdekin advanced writers:

Winner: Jennifer Gravatt for her story ‘The Wireless’ judged by Marion Day.

Olive Burdekin Prize
Winner: Kate Rivett Taylor for ‘Twist in Time’ judged by Joy Cowley.

Must start with “It all began when….” You can use your own topic and title 1000-1500 words for Marlborough Short Story and 1500- 2000 for Olive Burdekin. Please send your stories to Helen Godsiff Ferndale, RD2 Picton 7372 by the 31st August 2016.


Winner: Jenny Malcolm
Second prize: Alex Thompson
Third: Peggy Lawton


Val Tarrant Bell open to all entrants.

Tutaenui Bell for first time participants.

Topic “I may be gone for some time….” Time 3-5 minutes.


Lady Blundell Trophy:

First place: Mid Canterbury Provincial, Region 2
Commended: Awana Branch, Region 7








Categorised in: